Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

CHAPTER 6: Turning Point 1943

The Navy (2 pages)

A Navy Reborn

A host of factors would transform a disastrous naval situation into a resounding success before the year 1943 came to a close. These factors were: the cessation of operations by part of the navy in early 1943, the installation of more sophisticated sensing devices, more extensive training, the addition of more escort vessels and the arrival of long-range aircraft that made it possible to cover the whole North Atlantic.

When the RCAF acquired American Liberators with enough range to cover the entire Atlantic from bases along North American coasts, in conjunction with Allied aircraft operating from Europe, the German submarines began to have less freedom of he seas, especially in daylight.

Having regained control of the situation, Canada, with Britain's support, would finally get what it had been seeking since 1942 - a command of its own. The Americans, although virtually vacating the North Atlantic, had wanted to retain control over the entire North American coastline. In March 1943 the Canadian North-West Atlantic Command was formed at an Allied conference on convoys held in Washington. The Royal Canadian Navy was thereafter responsible for all convoys travelling north of New York City and west of the 47th Meridian, some 1,000 kilometres from Halifax. The reorganized RCN that resumed responsibility for convoys in the spring of 1943 was more effective, and in the next two years it destroyed 17 of the 27 submarines it would be credited with sinking between 1939 and 1945. From late 1942 on, the German navy, like the German air force, could no longer replace all of its losses.

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

CHAPITRE 6: Le tournant (1943)

La marine (2 pages)

La Marine - renaissance

L'arrêt des opérations d'une partie de notre marine au début de 1943, l'installation d'équipements de détection plus performants, un entraînement plus poussé, un plus grand nombre de navires d'escorte et l'arrivée d'avions à long rayon d'action permettant de couvrir tout l'Atlantique Nord, sont autant d'éléments qui convertiront une situation navale désastreuse en un succès retentissant avant la fin de l'année 1943.

C'est un fait que lorsque l'ARC acquiert des Liberator américains qui ont une autonomie suffisante pour couvrir toute la zone atlantique à partir des côtes nord-américaines, en collaboration avec les avions alliés venus d'Europe, la liberté d'action des sous-marins allemands devient plus limitée, en particulier le jour.

D'autre part, ayant repris le contrôle de la situation, le Canada, appuyé par la Grande-Bretagne, obtiendra enfin ce qu'il recherche depuis 1942, c'est-à-dire un commandement bien à lui. Les Américains, même quasi-absents de l'Atlantique Nord, veulent garder la main haute sur toutes les côtes nord-américaines. En mars 1943, le Commandement canadien de l'Atlantique du Nord-Ouest naît lors d'une conférence alliée sur les convois, tenue à Washington. La Marine royale du Canada est dès lors responsable de tous les convois circulant au nord de New York et à l'ouest du 47e méridien, soit à environ 1 000 kilomètres d'Halifax. La MRC réorganisée qui reprend charge de convois, au printemps 1943, est plus efficace et, dans les deux années qui suivront, elle détruira 17 des 27 sous-marins, qui seront portés à son actif entre 1939 et 1945. À compter de la fin de 1942, la marine allemande - tout comme son aviation d'ailleurs - n'est plus capable de compenser ses pertes.