Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

CHAPTER 2: Soldiers of the Sixteenth Century

Soldiers Of The Canadian Expeditions (1 page)


Until the mid-seventeenth century, expeditions to Canada were not protected by detachments of royal troops but by men recruited by the trading and exploration companies financing the operation. In order to recruit soldiers, these companies, whether British or French, had to obtain the permission of the sovereign, a condition that also applied to the right to have cannons made to wage war. The companies assumed the full costs of the expeditions, including those for recruiting, equipping and maintaining troops, in exchange for an exclusive monopoly, for example to the fur trade. The leader of an expedition also received a royal commission as a lieutenant-general, or governor, which gave him the authority to act in the name of the king in the affairs of the colony. Expeditionary leaders were often important shareholders in the enterprise.

Who then were the soldiers who protected the expeditions to Canada? Many, if not most, were likely veterans of royal armies who had already taken part in several campaigns. The composition of the first military corps sent to North America was probably similar to that of the corps sent by the Spanish to the south. There were "soldiers among [them] who [had] served in several parts of the world, in Constantinople, throughout Italy, and in Rome. ..," [14] wrote one of them. In times of peace, especially, these demobilized soldiers roamed the various kingdoms of Europe looking for a chance to enlist, and overseas adventure was certainly not to be disdained.

Soldiers were not the only men-at-arms attracted by these expeditions to America. Gentlemen joined in the explorations as well in the hope of finding gold or procuring land. Cartier took some along on his ships in 1535 and in 1541-43. In some cases, there were quite a few of them. For example, on Martin Frobisher's second expedition in 1577, there were "eleven other gentlemen" [15] in addition to the regular officers. They were usually seen as extra hands on the trip, whose swords and knowledge might prove useful.

Sixteenth-century documents are usually rather vague about the presence and number of soldiers on expeditions. In 1504, a French galleon sailed for Brazil. It was one of the first times that France sent men overseas. While documents about this voyage do not mention the occupation of all sixty people on board, they do report that they were well armed, with some 40 "harquebuses and other firearms," without counting pikes, halberds or daggers. One entry, according to which "Jacques l'Homme, called La Fortune, soldier" [16] and a sailor were abducted by the Amerindians, shows that there were men-at-arms on board.

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

CHAPITRE 2: Les soldats du XVIe siècle

Les soldats des expéditions au Canada (1 page)


Jusqu'au milieu du XVIIe siècle, les diverses expéditions à destination du Canada ne furent pas accompagnées de détachements des troupes royales, mais d'hommes levés par les compagnies d'exploration et de commerce qui finançaient l'opération. Pour avoir le droit de recruter des soldats, ces compagnies, anglaises ou françaises, devaient obtenir la permission du souverain, condition qui s'appliquait également au droit de couler des canons et de faire la guerre. Elles s'engageaient à assumer tous les frais de l'expédition, dont ceux du recrutement, de l'entretien et de l'équipement des troupes, en échange d'un monopole exclusif, la traite des fourrures, par exemple. Le chef de l'expédition recevait en outre une commission royale de lieutenant-général, ou de gouverneur, qui lui donnait autorité pour agir au nom du roi - souvent un des actionnaires importants de l'entreprise - dans les affaires de la colonie.

Qui sont-ils donc, ces soldats qui accompagnent les expéditions se dirigeant vers le Canada ? Il est probable que plusieurs, sinon la majorité, étaient des vétérans de l'armée royale ayant à leur actif, déjà, plusieurs campagnes. En fait, la composition des premiers corps militaires envoyés en Amérique du Nord dut ressembler à celle des troupes transportées par les Espagnols au sud. Il y a « parmi nous des soldats qui avaient été dans plusieurs parties du monde, à Constantinople, dans toute l'Italie et à Rome... » [14], écrit l'un deux. En période de paix, surtout, ces soldats, démobilisés, arpentaient les divers royaumes d'Europe en quête d'un engagement, et l'aventure outre-mer n'était certes pas à dédaigner.

Par ailleurs, les soldats ne sont pas les seuls hommes d'armes que l'attrait de ces expéditions amène en Amérique. Des gentilshommes s'y joignent pour participer aux explorations, dans l'espoir de trouver de l'or ou de se procurer des terres. Cartier en prend quelques-uns sur ses bateaux en 1535 ainsi qu'en 1541-1543. Dans certains cas ils sont relativement nombreux. Par exemple, lors de la seconde expédition de Martin Frobisher, en 1577, on compte « 11 autres gentilshommes » [15] en sus des officiers réguliers. Ce sont, en quelque sorte, des surnuméraires, dont l'épée et les connaissances peuvent s'avérer utiles.

Les documents du XVIe siècle sont vagues quant à la présence et au nombre de soldats dans les corps expéditionnaires. En 1504, un galion français vogue vers le Brésil. C'est l'une des premières fois que la France envoie des hommes outre-mer. Les écrits sur ce voyage ne mentionnent pas l'occupation de chacune des 60 personnes à bord, mais rapportent cependant qu'elles sont bien armées, avec quelque 40 « harquebuses et autres tels bastons à feu », sans compter des piques, des pertuisanes et des dagues. Une mention selon laquelle « Jacques L'Homme, dit La Fortune, soldat » [16], a été enlevé, de même qu'un marin, par les Amérindiens, prouve qu'il y avait des hommes d'armes à bord.