Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

CHAPTER 2: Soldiers of the Sixteenth Century

Voyages Of Discovery (1 page)


John Cabot embarking in full ceremonial garb on the Matthew at Bristol on 20 May 1497

John Cabot embarking in full ceremonial garb on the Matthew at Bristol on 20 May 1497
(Click image to enlarge)

Shortly before the end of the fifteenth century, the lure of unknown lands to the west was again felt in Europe, and America was rediscovered. Europeans sought once again to establish colonies throughout the sixteenth century: the Spanish and Portuguese primarily in South America, and the English and French principally in North America. Of all these nations, only the Spanish succeeded in making large encroachments. Numerous expeditions set out for Canada during this period, from the one by John Cabot in 1497 to that of Jacques Cartier, but no permanent colony was established. Canada therefore remained the exclusive domain of the natives until the seventeenth century. Nevertheless, the land claims made by Cartier in the St. Lawrence Valley were recognized in Europe, where the territories that he discovered were identified on maps as New France.

It would have been unthinkable for these intrepid explorers to set out in search of unknown lands, inhabited possibly by natives of unknown disposition, but presumably hostile, without ensuring a minimum of security through effective weapons and men who knew how to handle and maintain them. Therefore, the sailors from all the European nations who signed on for these expeditions had to be able to become men-at-arms when danger threatened. All ships were equipped with a supply of swords, spears and harquebuses, as well as a few artillery pieces. The distinction between naval vessels and merchant vessels was rather vague. In general, ordinary ships engaging in trade one year could be equipped for war the next and sent off on military campaigns, then reassigned once again to transporting merchandise. A few notable exceptions did exist, such as the Great Harry, a large British man-of-war.

Thanks to the development of ships able to withstand long ocean voyages, sixteenth-century Europeans enjoyed a revolutionary advantage over all other peoples of the times. Not only did America come within their reach, but they also succeeded in circumnavigating Africa. The Portuguese, who were dominant in this kind of exploration at the time, reached India in 1500, and then the Far East.

Additional Images (Click image to enlarge)

  • Portuguese ships, early 16th century
  • The Matthew, John Cabot’s ship, 1497
  • Sixteenth-century galleon

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

CHAPITRE 2: Les soldats du XVIe siècle

Voyages de découvertes (1 page)


John Cabot embarquant en costume de cérémonie sur le Matthew à Bristol, le 20 mai 1497. 

John Cabot embarquant en costume de cérémonie sur le Matthew à Bristol, le 20 mai 1497. 
(Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir)

Un peu avant la fin du XVe siècle, l'attrait des terres inconnues, à l'Ouest, se fit sentir de nouveau et l'Amérique fut redécouverte par les Européens, qui tentèrent, tout au long du XVIe siècle, d'y fonder des colonies : les Espagnols et les Portugais optèrent principalement pour l'Amérique du Sud, tandis que les Français et les Anglais s'intéressèrent surtout à l'hémisphère nord. Parmi toutes ces nations, seule l'Espagne en tirera des profits importants. Le Canada fut à cette époque la visée de nombreuses explorations, depuis celle de Jean Cabot, en 1497, jusqu'à celles de Jacques Cartier, mais aucune implantation n'en résulta. Ce territoire demeura donc, jusqu'au XVIIe siècle, l'apanage exclusif des autochtones. Néanmoins, les prises de possession effectuées par Cartier dans la vallée du Saint-Laurent furent reconnues, et les terres découvertes désignées sur les cartes européennes comme la « Nouvelle-France ».

Ces intrépides explorateurs ne se seraient jamais lancés à la recherche de terres inconnues, peut-être peuplées d'indigènes aux dispositions incertaines, mais supposées féroces, sans s'assurer un minimum de sécurité avec de bonnes armes et des gens qui en connaissaient le maniement et l'entretien. Aussi, quelle que soit leur nationalité, les marins qui signaient leur engagement pour ces expéditions devaient-ils être capables de se transformer en « hommes d'armes » face au danger. Chaque galion était équipé, dans cette éventualité, d'une réserve d'épées, de piques et d'arquebuses, et pourvu de quelques pièces d'artillerie. La distinction entre « navire de guerre » et « navire marchand » restait cependant assez vague. D'une façon générale, le galion ordinaire, qui faisait du commerce une année, pouvait être armé « en guerre » l'année suivante pour une campagne militaire, puis être affecté de nouveau au transport des denrées. Il y avait quelques notables exceptions, comme le Great Harry, grand galion de guerre britannique.

Pour avoir développé un type de navire capable d'effectuer de longs voyages océaniques, les Européens du XVIe siècle jouissaient d'un avantage révolutionnaire sur tous les peuples de leur temps. Ce ne fut pas seulement l'Amérique que leur avance technique mit à leur portée. À la même époque, ils réussirent également à contourner l'Afrique. Les Portugais, qui dominaient à ce moment-là la scène maritime, atteignirent l'Inde en 1500, puis se rendirent jusqu'en Extrême-Orient.

Images additionnelles (Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir)

  • Navires portugais, début du XVIe siècle
  • Le Matthew, navire de John Cabot, 1497
  • Galion du XVIe siècle