Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

APPENDIX A: The Organization of New France

French Naval Troops (5 pages)

Navy Troops in the West Indies

Apart from the troops it sent to New France (Canada, Île Royale, and Louisiana), the Ministry of the Navy maintained a small colonial army in the West Indies and Guyana. In the West Indies, only a general government existed at first "for the islands of America." However, in 1714 the French West Indies were divided into two administrative zones: the "Windward Islands" (Martinique, Guadeloupe, Dominica, Grenada and Guyana) and "Saint-Domingue," today known as Haiti.

The first colonial troops of the Compagnies franches de la Marine were sent to Martinique in 1674 in response to a Dutch attack. The garrison numbered about 500 men until 1750, when the number of companies doubled from 10 to 20. After 1724, the garrison also included 200 men from Karrer's Swiss Regiment. A company of canonniers-bombardiers was sent to the Windward Islands in 1747. The Compagnies franches de la Marine de la Guyane arrived in 1677. Most of these men were stationed at Fort Louis de Cayenne. The Guyana garrison increased gradually from 150 to 500 soldiers between 1677 and the mid-eighteenth century.

The first two Compagnies franches de la Marine de Saint-Domingue were established in Haiti in 1690. In 1732, the garrison of this flourishing colony comprised 16 companies with a total of 800 soldiers, which increased to 34 companies by 1750. This did not include about 400 soldiers of Karrer's Swiss Regiment and a company of canonniers-bombardiers raised in 1745. In all, about 2,300 officers and soldiers were distributed over a very small area compared to Canada. However, Haiti was then "the pearl of the Antilles," the richest of the colonies; and it was provided with a defensive system that remained effective until the French Revolution.

The arms, equipment and uniforms of these troops were practically identical to those in New France. During the 1690s, matchlock muskets were replaced by flintlock muskets. Some alterations were also made to the uniform in deference to the climate. The troops were given linen coats instead of woollen waistcoats, as well as linen knee breeches and cotton stockings. In the 1720s, linen gaiters were adopted.

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

ANNEXE A: L'Organisation de la Nouvelle-France

Les autres troupes de la Marine (5 pages)

Troupes de la Marine aux Antilles

À part les troupes qu'elle envoya en Nouvelle-France (Canada, île Royale, Louisiane), la Marine entretint une petite armée coloniale aux Antilles et en Guyane. Dans les Antilles, il n'y eut d'abord qu'un gouvernement général, pour « les îles de l'Amérique » mais, en 1714, on divisa les Antilles françaises en deux zones administratives : les « îles du Vent » - la Martinique, la Guadeloupe, la Dominique, la Grenade et la Guyane - et Saint-Domingue - aujourd'hui Haïti.

Les premières troupes coloniales des Compagnies franches de la Marine furent établies à la Martinique, en 1674, à la suite d'une attaque hollandaise. La garnison compta environ 500 hommes jusqu'en 1750, année où on doubla le nombre de Compagnies franches de la Marine qui passa de 10 à 20. La garnison comprit également 200 hommes du régiment suisse de Karrer à partir de 1724. Les îles du Vent furent dotées d'une compagnie de canonniers-bombardiers en 1747 et les Compagnies franches de la Marine de la Guyane s'y établirent en 1677. La plupart furent stationnées au fort Louis de Cayenne. La garnison de la Guyane augmenta graduellement de 150 à 500 soldats entre 1677 et le milieu du XVIIIe siècle.

En 1690, deux premières Compagnies franches de la Marine de Saint-Domingue furent établies à Haïti. En 1732, la garnison de cette florissante colonie comptait 16 compagnies totalisant 800 soldats, et augmenta jusqu'à 34 compagnies en 1750. Ceci sans compter quelque 400 soldats suisses du régiment de Karrer et une compagnie de canonniers-bombardiers, levée en 1745. Au total, quelque 2 300 officiers et soldats étaient répartis sur un tout petit territoire comparé au Canada. Mais Haïti était alors la « perle des Antilles », la plus riche des colonies, et on la dota d'un système de défense qui s'avéra efficace jusqu'à la Révolution française.

L'armement, l'équipement et l'uniforme de ces troupes étaient sensiblement les mêmes qu'en Nouvelle-France. On échangea les mousquets pour des fusils durant les années 1690. Le climat obligea à apporter certains ajustements à l'uniforme. On envoya des « justaucorps » en toile, au lieu de vestes en drap de laine, ainsi que des culottes en toile et des bas de coton, jusqu'aux années 1720. Par la suite, on adopta des guêtres de toile.