Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

CHAPTER 7: The Military Empire

New France Expands (1 page)


A soldier of the Compagnies franches de la Marine dressed for an expedition, mid-18th century

A soldier of the Compagnies franches de la Marine dressed for an expedition, mid-18th century
(Click image to enlarge)

From the early seventeenth century onward, the French ventured deeper and deeper into the heart of the continent. Between 1658 and 1662, Pierre Radisson explored Lake Superior, went as far as Hudson Bay via the Albany River, and discovered the upper Mississippi. Other explorers followed. In 1673, Louis Jolliet and Father Marquette followed the great river which the Amerindians called the Mississippi to Arkansas. Going even further afield, Robert Cavalier de La Salle set off from Montreal and reached at the Gulf of Mexico in 1682. He took possession of the territories he traversed in the name of King Louis XIV, calling them Louisiana. The strategic and geopolitical significance of these explorations did not escape the French, who perceived the potential for an immense empire based on control of the St. Lawrence and Mississippi rivers. Two years later, La Salle left France with a fleet of several ships carrying settlers and about 100 soldiers to establish a new colony on the lands that he had discovered. He failed to find the mouth of the Mississippi, however, and finally met with disaster on the shores of Texas, where he was killed. Nevertheless, colonization continued from the north. Missionaries and merchants, followed by some settlers from Canada attracted by more temperate southern climes, established small posts on the upper Mississippi, called the Illinois country.

In 1699, d'Iberville founded Biloxi, and France gained a firm foothold on the Gulf of Mexico, thanks to the efforts of the Canadians. By the 1720s, a chain of forts along the Mississippi ensured communications between New Orleans and the Illinois. Small forts were then constructed as well on the banks of the Arkansas and Missouri rivers, extending French reach to the Amerindian nations of the Great Plains. Finally the La Vérendryes, father and sons, searched for the "great western sea" from 1730 to 1743, dotting their path with a series of forts as far as the Rocky Mountains and spreading French influence over another large portion of the North American continent.

As with other empires of the past, the military would have a prominent role to play in building the one that France planned to forge in North America. In order to be successful, France had to control access to the interior of the continent. Although solid alliances were established with many Amerindian nations, France still needed to devote considerable human and military resources to pursuing the war with the Foxes, the allies of the Iroquois, and to impeding the expansion of the English and Spanish colonies to the east and south. In the end, it would fall to the soldiers and officers of the Compagnies franches de la Marine to carry out much of this phase of French empire-building in North America, by providing escorts for exploring expeditions, subduing the enemies of France, or protecting and administering the conquered territories.

Additional Images (Click image to enlarge)

  • La Salle claims Louisiana for France
  • The Château Saint-Louis, 1698

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

CHAPITRE 7: L'Empire militaire

La Nouvelle-France prend de l'expansion (1 page)


Un soldat des Compagnies franches de la Marine habillé pour aller en expédition, milieu du XVIIIe siècle

Un soldat des Compagnies franches de la Marine habillé pour aller en expédition, milieu du XVIIIe siècle
(Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir)

Dès le début du XVIIe siècle, les Français s'aventurent de plus en plus profondément vers le centre du continent. De 1658 à 1662, Pierre Radisson explore le lac Supérieur, se rend jusqu'à la baie d'Hudson par la rivière Albany et découvre le haut Mississippi. D'autres explorateurs emboîtent le pas. Ainsi, en 1673, Louis Jolliet et le père Marquette descendent le fleuve que les Amérindiens nomment Mississippi jusqu'à l'Arkansas. Poussant plus loin encore ces explorations, Robert Cavelier de La Salle, parti de Montréal, parvient au golfe du Mexique en 1682. Il donne le nom de Louisiane aux territoires dont il prend possession pour le roi Louis XIV. La signification stratégique et géopolitique de ces explorations n'échappe pas aux Français qui voient la possibilité d'un immense empire s'ouvrir à eux en contrôlant les fleuves Saint-Laurent et Mississippi. Deux ans plus tard, La Salle, à la tête d'une flotte de plusieurs navires transportant des colons et une centaine de soldats, quitte la France afin de fonder une nouvelle colonie sur le territoire qu'il vient de découvrir. Mais il ne retrouve pas l'embouchure du Mississippi et la tentative tourne au désastre sur les côtes du Texas où il est finalement assassiné. La colonisation se fera donc par le nord, à la même époque, alors que les missionnaires et les commerçants, suivis de quelques colons du Canada qu'attire cette terre plus tempérée, installent de petits postes dans le haut Mississippi, appelé « les Illinois ».

À la suite de la fondation de Biloxi par d'Iberville en 1699, la France, grâce aux Canadiens, prend solidement pied dans le golfe du Mexique. Dès les années 1720, une chaîne de forts, établis le long du Mississippi, assure les communications entre la Nouvelle-Orléans et les Illinois. Par après, des fortins sont aussi érigés sur les bords des fleuves Arkansas et Missouri, portant l'influence française jusqu'aux nations amérindiennes des plaines centrales. Enfin, de 1730 à 1743, les La Vérendrye, père et fils, lancés à la découverte de la « mer de l'Ouest », parsèment leur chemin de forts jusqu'aux Rocheuses, étendant ainsi l'emprise française sur une autre portion importante du continent nord-américain.

Comme pour tout empire, les militaires auront un rôle prépondérant à jouer dans la création de celui que la France projette d'établir en Amérique du Nord. Il s'agit pour elle de contrôler tout accès à l'intérieur du continent. Et si elle crée de solides alliances avec de nombreuses nations amérindiennes, la guerre avec les Renards, alliés des Iroquois, la nécessité de limiter l'expansion des colonies anglaises et espagnoles à l'est et au sud, exigeront d'elle des ressources humaines et militaires considérables. Qu'ils encadrent les expéditions d'exploration, soumettent les ennemis de la France ou assurent la défense et la gestion des territoires conquis, les soldats et officiers des compagnies franches seront les grands artisans de ce volet de l'empire français en Amérique du Nord.

Images additionnelles (Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir)

  • La Salle revendique la Louisiane au nom de la France
  • Le château Saint-Louis, 1698